With less than 20 days left until Halloween, families are scurrying to stores across the country looking for the perfect costume. As well as looking for the treat they will be handing out and decorations for just the perfect touch.
But if you are some of the unlucky families living in cities in Virginia you may be wasting your time.
In a post published by HR Scene, there are nine cities that have placed bans on the creepy holiday and its traditional festivities.
Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and the counties, Williamsburg/James City County and York County are the cities that have placed strict laws concerning trick-or-treating in place this year. For example, if you live in Chesapeake, trick-or-treating can only take place between 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. That’s not it…only children 12 and under are allowed to participate.
The city stated that police officers won’t be “actively seeking out violations of the time or age limits,” but they will be patrolling making sure that everyone is safe. However, if you are over 12 and are caught trick or treating you could be fined anywhere from $25 to $100. In addition, you can also face up to 6 months in the slammer, if convicted!
You heard that right! We aren’t joking!
The other 8 areas have passed similar laws some differ slightly but each one is a hard stop at 8 pm.
So now what will we do? Well, my family is usually done and home in 2 hours so I think we are safe. The last thing any parent wants to do is bail their 13-year-old out of the prison on Halloween, right?
Do you agree with these laws? Does your town have strange laws about Halloween?